as a CMS - Questions

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Controls, Themes
Feb 22, 2010 at 6:59 PM

Hello -

I am very new to this application as I am more of a PHP/MySQL programmer and have never worked with ASP.NET before. I currently have a client wishing to have a CMS for one section of their site. I found a few resources on how to do this but I do have a few questions for anybody that has been able to accomplish this task. Right now I am putting together a them to match the rest of their site and it has the header & footer as includes, so I just have to format the body content and have that as the editable content. They are not using the "blog" functionality of it, but basically need it to be able to create new pages and edit them.

Here are my questions:

Is there a way to take the blog functionality completely out of the equation?

Can I take out some of the Control Panel options for an Editor role that refer to the blog (Blog Roll, Categories, etc.)

How can I take everything out of the sidepanel with the exception of the admin links (which I am going to move to the top of the site out of the content area - and how would I go about doing something like this)?

Or, if anybody has any suggestions for resource that might help me in this quest, feel free. I have already searched everywhere on Google but found no "real" resources on how to customize the core application and to create a solution such as this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Feb 22, 2010 at 7:53 PM

If you're more familiar with PHP/MySQL, I'd suggest looking at , there may be some solutions there that already do exactly what you're looking for ( and are not centered around blogging ).

If you need to deliver this as an ASP.NET app, I think DotNetNuke ( may be pretty close to what you're trying to accomplish.

Anyways, that's just my opinion :)  Good luck!

Feb 22, 2010 at 8:08 PM