Role of Users

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Business Logic Layer
Nov 19, 2007 at 2:55 PM
Hi everybody,
i am new to using BlogEngine .Net. When i am trying to change role of user it doesnt work. role.xml was not changed.i have configured XMLMembershipProvider. But i dont know what i missed in that. Anyone can help me.
Nov 21, 2007 at 5:13 PM
Same problem here. I checked function both in Firefox 2.0.0.9 and IE. 7.0. The check boxes goes back to the original state.

The file "roles.xml" is not read-only.
Nov 22, 2007 at 2:06 AM
So what you need to do is change the premissions on the "roles.xml" file. (The security setttings)

theflowmachine wrote:
Same problem here. I checked function both in Firefox 2.0.0.9 and IE. 7.0. The check boxes goes back to the original state.

The file "roles.xml" is not read-only.

Nov 22, 2007 at 9:41 AM
Edited Nov 22, 2007 at 9:41 AM

Thank u for ur reply.Now its working fine.But now i am getting problem in creating users.When i creating user in existing user name it shows error. i don know how to validate this.Help me plz

Nov 23, 2007 at 8:30 AM
The whole App_Data folder needs to have write permissions.

See:

http://www.dotnetblogengine.net/wiki/Installation.ashx#D-Freshinstallation

Nov 23, 2007 at 9:16 AM
Edited Nov 23, 2007 at 9:16 AM
I am getting error in creating user.When i creating new user in same as existing user name i got an error "An item with the same key has already been added. "
System.ArgumentException: An item with the same key has already been added. I want to validate username wiyh existing username can help me how to do?
Nov 23, 2007 at 12:34 PM
If you want to validate a user, should you be creating a new user with the same name? Or, should you be trying to log in with the new user name credentials? I think you would want to do the latter.
Nov 23, 2007 at 1:02 PM