Upgrade from BE 1.4.0.0 to BE 1.6.1

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Business Logic Layer, Controls, Themes
May 7, 2010 at 2:16 PM
Edited May 7, 2010 at 6:19 PM

I have been tasked with upgrading our current site that uses BE 1.4.0.0 to BE 1.6.1. The developer that installed and maintained our BE site is gone and I have no experience with BE.  Our blog has been themed by the previous developer and I don't know what other customizations may have been made.

I started to research the upgrade by looking on the BlogEngine website for upgrade directions. When I go to http://blogengine.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Installation#version16upgrade and look at the section "4.1 Upgrading to version 1.6" (from a previous version) step 3 says "As always, please follow the upgrade guidelines described below." but there are no further directions below for the 1.6 upgrade, only the next section "4.2 Upgrading to version 1.4".  Are there detailed directions for an upgrade from a previous version (1.4) to 1.6.1?

Thanks,

Josh

Coordinator
May 7, 2010 at 10:41 PM

There's some good guidelines here.  But there's not too much to the upgrade.  The one potential concern is whether the previous developer made any changes to BE outside of the the theme files.  The theme files are in the themes\THEME_NAME folder.  You can see what theme you're running by going to the Settings tab in the control panel.  When upgrading, you can keep your own theme, but it's best to overwrite all the files outside of the theme folder.  And if any custom changes were made to files outside of the theme, you would normally want to manually reapply those changes.  Also, you should know whether you're using the default XML storage of a DB for storage.  Here's how I would go about it.

1.  Backup the entire blog first.  So in case anything goes wrong, you can always revert to the backup (and you can be more fearless with the upgrade!)