Starting from the Source - Project within a Solution

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0
Jul 15, 2010 at 8:55 PM

I apologize if any of these questions are noob; I am new to BlogEngine.NET and looking to integrate it into our intranet.

We are currently an ASP.Net 4 Web Forms platform on IIS 7.5, using Windows Authentication (Kerberos). The intranet is built as a Web Application Project (rather than Web Site project), and is deployed using file system publish in visual studio.

My first attempt to install BlogEngine.NET was using the Web Platform Installer 2.0 directly on the server. It installed correctly, and is setup as an IIS application within the intranet website. The issue is that since I did not install the source control (1) I have no local copy in my project, (2) without it in my project, publishing the file system (as configured now) replaces all files with what is in the compiled project (meaning /blogs disappears). Bad.

In addition to fixing the issue above, I realized we will eventually need to integrate the blog engine into look and feel (master page, css, and jquery scripts) and be able to customize some things about BlogEngine.NET - so I figured I should install the source code. The hang up here is if we wish to consume our master pages and scripts and such, BlogEngine.NET needs to be a part of the same solution - there are workarounds for this like the old fashioned virtual directory trick, or deploying a common library to GAC but I would like to avoid that if possible for now.

So here are my questions:

1. Is there a way to integrate BlogEngine.NET into my existing solution?

a. If YES, can the blog engine project(s) be deployed to IIS as a separate application within the intranet website still, or will it get restricted to compilation in the core website application?