Need a primer

Topics: Business Logic Layer
Aug 16, 2010 at 3:05 PM

I'm new to blogging and would like some basic terminology defined.

What is the difference between "Blog(weblog)", "Page", "Post", "Entry", "Comments"?

This is my stab at it.  Please tell me where I go off-base.

Blog - The application, only one per installation, contains many Pages.

Page - Like an article or thesis, written by the blog's author, contains many Posts.

Post - not sure what this is, contains many Entries.

Entry - not sure what this is, contains many Comments.

Comments - I think this is what readers write at the bottom of the articles.

Please help clarify this.

Thanks,
Dogulas

Aug 17, 2010 at 8:58 PM
Edited Aug 18, 2010 at 1:52 AM

(Don't know why the formatting is jacked up in this - I think my network may be blocking something that's needed to format it correctly. I'll try to fix it from home this evening.  Update - fixed.)

Blog = collection of pages, posts, and comments. BE currently supports one blog per installation, though running multiple blogs with one instance is in the plans/works.

Page = Independent, non-chronological content (ex. "About This Blog" rarely changes, and is always timely) Ex. http://djs-consulting.com/page/liberty-pundits.aspx BE has a "page list" widget and control that will automatically list the pages in a blog, so you don't have to add in a link when you add a new page.

Post = Entry = chronological content, with each entry usually addressing one issue. Ex. the front page at http://techblog.djs-consulting.com has 10 posts. Most blogs have a list of recent posts as their front page. Comments = user or author comments on a particular post.

HTH

Aug 17, 2010 at 9:56 PM
Edited Aug 18, 2010 at 12:59 AM

danielsummers,

Thanks very much for clearing that up.  Don't worry too much about my formatting, I originally wrote it in another text editor then pasted it here.  I had double spaced the lines which looked much better in the other editor.