Using BlogEngineNet Login Information

Oct 8, 2010 at 9:33 PM

First off, I am so happy and glad I use this Blog, I love it!

I know very little how the login process works on BlogEngineNet however I do believe the system uses cookies to save login information and the like.

How can I use this login cookie on the rest of my site? I would like to only have one login for the whole site and I love how the blog handles the users in the database. I am just looking for something to show the user he is logged in, like right now I look up and see it says "fafhrdd" is logged in. I would also want other things to be done, like the ability to vote on pages outside my blog or have side bar comments outside the blog (yes I understand the blog has a great page feature and you can vote/comment on it but I am looking for something outside this area).

While I am not a huge coder I know my way around but would love any input, any insight, or any help I can get! My server is running ASP on a windows server if that matters.

THANKS!

Coordinator
Oct 10, 2010 at 4:37 AM

BE is using the built-in ASP.NET Membership and Role system.

If your other pages are in the same website/application, you could access the logged in user via User.Identity.Name, for example.

There's some good tutorials on this here.

Oct 11, 2010 at 8:26 PM

Thank you for the quick reply!

Yes my other pages are located on the same server with the same database however I am slightly confused. I am using ASP Classic for my pages and applications that I am making and not ASP.net which is odd since I did not know my host did ASP.net since I have not upgraded it but it must work if the blog works.

Thanks again! I will check out what posted and I will see what I find out :)

Oct 14, 2010 at 1:56 AM

Does the blog use IIS settings, cookies, or third party components to handle the authentication of users? If I wanted to see what part of the blog does user authentication what file would I look at?