RC 2.0: Editor won't insert xml code

Topics: Business Logic Layer, Controls
Dec 19, 2010 at 6:58 AM
Edited Dec 19, 2010 at 7:09 AM

I am quite new to BE and maybe I just need to tweak I thing or two but the internal editor won't add any xml code snippet to my first blog post
Could it be caused by IE8?

I click add code, change type of code to xml, paste my xml snippet etc but code doesnt show. If I change to html view there is no code but the tags shows
I can then add the code but changing between html and wysiwyg will remove the code again

Will the latest stable release be a better choice? Or should I use windows live writer instead?
I am a bit afraid to start using BE atm as opening any page in the internal editor might crash the content

[EDIT] More ordinary code eg C# is not a problem, I assume it's the tags in the xml code which gives the greef?

Any ideas? Thanks in advance  /Peter

Dec 19, 2010 at 9:04 AM

Hi Peter, thanks very for bringing this up.  This is a problem and I just checked in a fix for it.  I noticed a symptom of this recently, but didn't realize it was this bad.  We need to HTML encode the values you enter into the Syntax Highlighter plugin window.  BE has this fixed.

You can either upgrade to that version ... you would need to compile the BE core project if you download from the Source Code tab above.  Or to make it easier on you, I ZIP'd up the latest version of the plugin.  You can download it here.  Inside the ZIP is a folder named "insertcode".  This should replace the "insertcode" folder you will find at:

Please give it a try when you have a chance ... thanks.

Dec 19, 2010 at 11:13 AM

Thanks a trillion, I have enough grey hair as it is :)
My blog will include a lot of xml and xslt snippets

I will grab the sourcecode and try it this evening

Dec 19, 2010 at 6:28 PM

Seems to be working much better :-)
I'll upload the code to my blog and publish my first post

Jan 6, 2011 at 1:13 AM
Edited Jan 6, 2011 at 3:02 AM