Changes aren't saving in 1.6.0

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Controls
Dec 22, 2010 at 1:20 AM

Hi,

I've installed BlogEngine 1.6 on my WinHost account. My main URL is jeffreygetzin.com, and I've put the software in the blog/ subdirectory, which I've enabled as an application directory.

When I hit the page http://jeffreygetzin.com/blog, it starts up ok, and I get no errors. I can change the name of the blog via Administration/Settings, for example, and those changes work.

However, if I try to change the "About the Author" text by clicking on "Edit" on the front page, then I get the pop-up editor, can enter text, but when I click Save, the new text is discarded and I'm left with the original default text of "Something about the author".

Some info that may or may not help.

As I mentioned, I'm using WinHost. My website runs at the top-level directory.  I'm running ASP.NET 3.5.  APP_DATA/ is rwx.

Any suggestions as to what I should try? I'm a strong C# developer, though not an IIS guru.

Jeff

Dec 22, 2010 at 2:37 AM

P.S. Another symptom, or possibly a different problem.

I view the sample post, then elect to view the replies. At the bottom of the replies, I typed a few letters in for my own reply, then switched to Preview.

The little AJAX-loading icon shows but then nothing happens. It just hangs.

Jeff

Coordinator
Dec 22, 2010 at 3:39 AM

In the control panel, on the Settings tab, in the Advanced Settings section is a checkbox labeled "Compress WebResource.axd".  Uncheck that, save, and then try it out.

Dec 22, 2010 at 11:17 AM

Nice one! That fixed the preview tab change problem! What did that option do?

But I'm still having the "Something about the author" editing problem. Other suggestions?

Jeff

Coordinator
Dec 22, 2010 at 8:39 PM

Can you create a post?  Can you edit other widgets?  Maybe try adding a new TextBox widget to see if that works, and then try editing it, and then try deleting it.