configuration error: connection name 'BlogEngine' was not found

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0
Jan 4, 2011 at 1:57 AM

I'm new to this, so I'm not sure what happened.  I installed BlogEngine.NET as it was available from the web host's list of apps to install in the hosting config panel.

Then, I created a virtual directory named "blog" and pointed the path to the blogengine path.  It was working fine so that users could go to http://cloud8studios.com/blog and would see the blog.  This worked for a few months.

Now, I get this error when going to http://cloud8studios.com/blog/:

Server Error in '/blog' Application.

Configuration Error

Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: The connection name 'BlogEngine' was not found in the applications configuration or the connection string is empty.

Source Error:

Line 65:         <clear />
Line 66: <add name="XmlRoleProvider" type="BlogEngine.Core.Providers.XmlRoleProvider, BlogEngine.Core" description="XML role provider" />
Line 67: <add name="SqlRoleProvider" type="System.Web.Security.SqlRoleProvider" connectionStringName="BlogEngine" applicationName="BlogEngine" />
Line 68: <add name="DbRoleProvider" type="BlogEngine.Core.Providers.DbRoleProvider, BlogEngine.Core" connectionStringName="BlogEngine" />
Line 69: </providers>

Source File: D:\inetpub\vhosts\cloud8studios.com\httpdocs\blogenginenet\web.config    Line: 67

Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:2.0.50727.4206; ASP.NET Version:2.0.50727.4209