Changing Appearency Of Blog Engine

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Themes
Jan 10, 2011 at 5:20 PM

Hey guys, im new to blog engine. I have to say its a very nice site that was many features, but i also have to say that i was overwhelmed by its code, and i couldn't understand 90% of it. Basically the reason i went into the code in the first place is because i wanted to change the layout. For example i wanted to put an image on top instead of the blog name. And have different sections like Videos, Articles, etc. Can i change this? And from where?

Thanks

Jan 10, 2011 at 5:29 PM

For a start you would choose a them you like, (there are many), then edit the css file in the theme folder.

Check out these sites, BE 2.0 one using SQL_CE and the other XML

http://tucsonbookworms.com

http://sahcinfo.org

Jan 10, 2011 at 5:34 PM

Yes thats the type of modification i want to use. My version only came with 3 styles: Mobile, Indigo, and Standard. They all look the same from within visual studio.

So if i wanted to change the top part to have an image instead of text, i would modify the:

"

#header {
    text-align: right;
    margin-bottom: 30px;
    width: 100%;
}

#header p {
    font-family: Arial;
    font-size: 80px;
    font-weight: bold;
    margin: 0px;
    letter-spacing: 8px;
}

#header span {
    font-weight: normal;
    letter-spacing: 4px;
    color: silver;
    margin: 0px;
}

#header a {
    text-decoration: none;
    color: white;
}
"

?

Thanks!

Jan 10, 2011 at 6:44 PM

I changed the style and it is giving me a directory listing now. Anyone know why this happens? Here is what it is showing me:

Directory Listing -- /BlogEngine.NET/Account/

[To Parent Directory]

Saturday, January 01, 2011 01:36 PM 5,265 account.css
Saturday, January 01, 2011 01:36 PM 3,744 account.js
Saturday, January 01, 2011 01:36 PM 1,353 account.master
Saturday, January 01, 2011 01:36 PM 3,604 account.master.cs
Saturday, January 01, 2011 01:36 PM 705 change-password-success.aspx