Blogengine 2.0 problems

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0
Feb 13, 2011 at 6:54 PM

Hi,

i am new to the .net stuff  so im not to sure what im doing.

just before christmas, i installed version 1.6 and everything worked from the get go, but unzip and upload and done.

I have now seen version 2.0 has been release so i though i would upgrade and check out the new features.

so i read the instructions to upgrade which was simple enough but now the website is running slow and some pages dont even work anymore.

http://hugheshouseonline.co.uk/ thats the link

the contact page doesnt show

trying to open a post doesnt work

viewing the comments pages dont work

un/approve comments dont work anymore

also when i try adding a new post and press the publish it just says page cannot be found but it does publish the info

thats all i have found at the moment but i an unsure why these pages are not working anymore

i have also tried to delete all the files and start with a fresh install but there are stil lthe same problems.

i also reinstalled a back up of v1.6 and everything worked fine

so can somone help me out and advise what i am doing wrong?

Regards,

Martin

Feb 15, 2011 at 7:01 PM

Can anyone help out a newbie here?

i read that BlogEngine was thriving and has a massive helpful community :-(

Coordinator
Feb 15, 2011 at 8:39 PM

One thing to look at is "Add date to post links" in admin settings, but if that test post is a new one that probably won't make any difference. Do you see any extensions if navigate to extensions tab in the admin? It could be that you messed up files during upgrade. Worse case I would try clean install making sure it works out of the box, then added old data files.

Feb 15, 2011 at 10:29 PM

Dear rtur,

thank you for replying, its much appreciated.

However, the "add date to post links" is unchecked and when i checked the box it didnt make any differance.