Sploggers breaking in through security flaw

Topics: Controls
Feb 18, 2011 at 8:16 PM

I'm not a developer, but I'm responsible for managing a website with a blog powered by BlogEngine. Only registered members of the site may post comments. Sploggers are getting in and posting comments that look like registered members, but they're not. Our site management vendor says that sploggers are exploiting a flaw in the Blogimporter.asmx web service. Has anyone experienced this? Is there a fix? Or, is our site management vendor full of crap?

Thanks.

Feb 19, 2011 at 5:12 AM
Edited Oct 24, 2011 at 6:39 PM

Get their IP's and block them from the site.  That will slow them down till you can find a solution to fix the problem.

http://madskristensen.net/post/Block-IP-addresses-from-your-website.aspx

Java Blog

Feb 20, 2011 at 8:33 AM

According to security advisory from 07.Jan 2011 that I got:

A security issue has been discovered in BlogEngine.NET, which can be exploited by malicious, local users to perform certain actions with escalated privileges.
  The vulnerability is caused due to the "api/BlogImporter.asmx" script not properly validating uploaded files via the "GetFile" function. This can be exploited to execute arbitrary ASP code by uploading an ASP file.

Solution is to upgrade to  BlogEngine.NET 2.0.

I do not find GetFile function call in BE 2.0 BlogImporter.cs code.

Coordinator
Feb 20, 2011 at 9:34 AM

In BE 2.0, in the App_Code folder is BlogImporter.cs.  Line 248 is the GetFile() function.  It can be seen online here.

If you think BlogImporter.asmx is causing a problem, you can delete BlogImporter.asmx from the API folder.  Then no one can access it.  It's only needed if you are importing blog data from a different blog system.