Privatizing the individual post

Topics: Business Logic Layer
Mar 1, 2011 at 10:54 PM

I am new to BlogEngine.Net. I have just integrated BlogEngine to our existing website. It seems that blogs created by anyone can be seen by everyone who has access to the system. But what I want is blogs created by any user should be visible to himself only. No one else can see the post created by him except the administrator. Is there a way to do so? 

FYI, I am using AspNet membership provider. 

Thanks in advance.

Mar 2, 2011 at 7:50 PM

This feature does not exist out of the box as it defeats the nature of the blog ( one writes a post to others, not to him/herself).

However, you may take a try with BE.NET 2.0 Roles and

1) Introduce a new role, lets call it Authenticated Users, and define the rights for this role the way you want.
2) Remove permissions from Anonymous role.
3) If this is not sufficient, you should take a look at BusinessLogic => Post.cs => IsVisible Property

Mar 2, 2011 at 9:16 PM

I agree with you mvincic regarding blogs being public. But it was one of the requirement for my project as of now. I already tried the option number 1 and 2 and it didn't work for me. I will now go for option 3.

Suppose userA writes a blog and userB also writes a blog. When I login as any of the user, I can see all the blogs in my frontpage or the home page from both userA and userB. Shouldn't that be somewhat separated like 'MyBlog' and 'Public Blog'? This is somewhat confusing to me.  

Mar 3, 2011 at 6:33 AM
Edited Mar 3, 2011 at 6:34 AM

It seems that you are looking for multiple blog feature, that does not exist at this moment, and I guess roles / rights system introduced in BE 2.0 is a step in this direction.
What you can do, is to have separate BE.NET installation for each user ( i.e. one  for userA and another for userB).

Mar 3, 2011 at 5:16 PM