Just to confirm: Upgrade by uploading...

Mar 22, 2011 at 3:24 AM

Just to confirm, to upgrade from say, version to, I simply upload my new build overwritting everything except /app_data

I tested this by downloading my app_data folder to my local test machine, and it looks like everything works fine.  But I am a little O.C.D. So, still nervous about going the other way.

Mar 22, 2011 at 11:14 AM

That's all you have to do. What I normally do is delete everything but the app_data folder first and then upload so that I know everything gets replaced correctly.

Mar 22, 2011 at 2:16 PM

Yes it usually works... take care if you have customizations. It worked for me using XML Provider.

Mar 22, 2011 at 2:53 PM

I forgot about the customizations/extensions. If you do have extensions, don't delete the app_code/extensions folder, just overwrite what's in there. Your existing extensions will work just fine.

Mar 23, 2011 at 2:30 AM

Thank you all