[howto] - Clip a Post

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Themes
Jun 25, 2011 at 7:55 AM
Edited Oct 22, 2011 at 2:46 AM

Most of you will probably asking WHY I need to clip a post instead of just enabling "Only show description of posts" in settings. For all of us know that enabling that will crample your html code in your posts. I'm a developer and I usually post codes here and I also have formatting enabled, images, videos. So that means my posts contains HTML codes, not just P's, and such.

I'd like to pretty much to have the formatting, images, and videos, stay the way they are layouted in my blog post when viewed and clipped so I made that feature to do just that!

read more here: http://jaysonragasa.net/post/2011/06/25/BlogEngineNET-e28093-HOWTO-Clip-a-Post.aspx

Oct 22, 2011 at 2:39 AM

Your web link isnt working.. curious how you got the clipping to work, so that it maintains the html and have just a "Read more" type button to see the rest..

Thanks

Oct 22, 2011 at 2:46 AM

here you go.

http://wall.jaysonragasa.net/wall/post/2011/06/25/BlogEngineNET-e28093-HOWTO-Clip-a-Post.aspx

Oct 25, 2011 at 5:41 PM
Edited Oct 25, 2011 at 6:33 PM
nullstring wrote:

here you go.

http://wall.jaysonragasa.net/wall/post/2011/06/25/BlogEngineNET-e28093-HOWTO-Clip-a-Post.aspx

Thanks for that, though not sure how to apply your code in my case..

I dont have the same code for div's etc..

For instance, i have

<div class="post xfolkentry" id="post<%=Index %>"> and from within it:

<div class="text">
        <asp:PlaceHolder ID="BodyContent" runat="server" />
    </div>

</div> <!-- post xfolkentry-->

Your code snippet is

<div id="postcontent_<%=Index %>" class="post_content" style="height: 500px; overflow: hidden;" onmouseover="">
    <h2><a href="<%=Post.RelativeLink %>" class="taggedlink"><%=Server.HtmlEncode(Post.Title) %></a></h2>
    <p class="post-info">Filed under <%=CategoryLinks(" , ") %></p>

</div>