Changing file upload

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Business Logic Layer
May 10, 2008 at 6:32 AM
Hi, I am fairly new to BlogEngine.NET, but I am trying to migrate my old WordPress blog to BlogEngine.NET. There are a couple of things I need to look at, before being able to succesfully migrate.

At this moment, when you upload a file with a post the file is uploaded and just a piece of text is pasted in the editor. When the post is saved (and I am still using the XML data provider) it saves no extra data whatsoever about this file. It's just a link in the post.

What I wanted to accomplish is this:
When I upload a file to a post, I would like it to be stored as an extra element in the XML file. I would also like to add a couple child-elements, with for example a description, file size, etc. This way it probably would be easier for themes to show a small file list below the post just made, containing the files uploaded with a post.

Check the following url for an example on my old blog.
http://www.depl0y.com/personal/xmldocument-fluent-interface

Now I am pretty new to making BlogEngine.NET extensions, but if someone could give me a couple of hints about what I am trying to accomplish, that would be great.
May 10, 2008 at 7:37 AM
Ok, I started looking around in the source code a bit, and I found one way to maybe complete this. I could change the Add_Entry page and make it store the file info somewhere else... somehow.

But I wonder if this can be done by extension instead of changing the application code itself.
May 10, 2008 at 9:44 AM
Sorry about this, but I got my little project almost working. Above the file upload control it now shows a table, which shows which files are attached to a post. I changed the default behaviour for the upload control to not insert a link to the file immediately when a file is uploaded. The attached files are also saved to the post XML files and reloaded when needed again.