Newbie here, blogengine keeps exploding on me

May 12, 2008 at 12:31 AM
At first I received some random web.config error message that informed me that I had to turn off customErrors in order to actually see what was going on.  So, I do this and then I'm confronted with the following message:

Server Error in '/blog/blogengine.net' Application.

Configuration Error

Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: This configuration section cannot be used at this path.  This happens when the site administrator has locked access to this section using <location allowOverride="false"> from an inherited configuration file.

Source Error:

Line 41:     <globalization requestEncoding="utf-8" responseEncoding="utf-8" culture="auto" uiCulture="auto" />
Line 42: <httpRuntime enableVersionHeader="false" useFullyQualifiedRedirectUrl="true" maxRequestLength="16384" executionTimeout="3600" requestLengthDiskThreshold="16384" />
Line 43: <trust level="High" />
Line 44:
Line 45: <machineKey

Source File: d:\hosting\k17k17\blog\blogengine.net\web.config    Line: 43

Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:2.0.50727.1433; ASP.NET Version:2.0.50727.1433

Now...I've been a long time blogger, but this is my first attempt at using a service that isn't ingrained in a web site somewhere else, so you can imagine exactly how little that message meant to me.  So it might've been stupid but I simply deleted that line.  Then I'm confronted with the following line:

Server Error in '/blog/blogengine.net' Application.

Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection.
Parameter name: index