SeoFriendly URL / URL Rewriting

Topics: Business Logic Layer, Controls
Nov 28, 2011 at 8:15 PM

Hi to everyone,

i'm pretty new to blogengine, and i would like to know from more experienced user if in blogengine exists something to improve the Seo.

Basically what i would like to do is index my articles under their categories.

What happen now is that if i make an article (let's say "Basics of C Sharp") and i put it under the categories "Programming Tutorial"(Parent) --> "CSharp"(Child) the final url to my article will be:

www.mydomain.com/post/Basics-of-C-Sharp.aspx

Instead, what i would like to get is:

www.mydomain.com/Programming-Tutorial/CSharp/Basics-of-C-Sharp.aspx

How can i achieve this result? Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thank you very much in advance!

Bye

Alessandro

Coordinator
Nov 28, 2011 at 9:01 PM

One issue with your approach is that post can belong to multiple categories. I understand that you can self-restrict to one, but it won't work for all. Anyways, you can take a look at URL rewrite module, specifically at RewritePost method, to get an ideas and maybe find solution that works for you.

Nov 30, 2011 at 6:05 PM

Hi rtur,
 thank you very much for you opinion and suggestion.
I tried to understand the logic behind the Rewrite Post Method.
For my understanding it seems that the right post is found by the slug (my havedate is set to true so the 2 previous if are passed for this), after retrieving the right post, it simply redirect it to the post.aspx passing the id etc.
I ended up editing the post class in this way:

public string RelativeLink

{
            get
            {
                var theslug = Utils.RemoveIllegalCharacters(this.Slug) + BlogSettings.Instance.FileExtension;

return BlogSettings.Instance.TimeStampPostLinks
                           ? string.Format(
                               "{0}post/{1}{2}",
                               Utils.RelativeWebRoot,