Help with understanding Profiles

Aug 2, 2008 at 9:18 AM

I am very new to profiles and profiles in 1.4.5. Could someone please explain to me how it works. Is it only supposed to be visible to the admin? To my understanding this is how its supposed to work:

1. I create or update the profile for lets say the admin and put in his details such as Country and Photo.( and btw a browse button for the photo will be very helpful)
2. The admin posts and article and on the article it says "by admin"
3. When someone clicks the admin link, it should open a page or popup displaying his Country and Photo

Isn't that how profiles work? Currently when I click the admin link on the article it only shows all posts made by him and not his profile. Am I missing something or do I need to do some additional coding. The only thing that works in the profile is the "Display Name"

Sorry for being such a noob but hey i'm a learner and new to BlogEngine.
Looking forward to positive feedback.

Aug 2, 2008 at 9:36 PM
From a usability perspective that would make sense, but that's now how BE.Net is set up.  When you click on the users name, BE.Net shows a list of posts that where authored by that user, hence the link /author/admin.aspx
Aug 4, 2008 at 8:11 AM
Well so what use is are the Profiles if its not visible to the public. I'm sure there is some use to it. It can't just be for admin use. Why does the admin want to know profiles for other users/ editors.

Anyway if someone can tell me what use it is, will appreciate.
Aug 5, 2008 at 3:05 AM