BlogEngine.NET comparison to WordPress

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0
Aug 2, 2008 at 3:19 PM
I have been using the awesome Wordpress tool for a few years, but now I need to do some work in a .NET environment. I have heard more good things about BlogEngine.NET than the other .NET blogs and I am thinking about using it.

Do any current users of BlogEngine have experience with WordPress? I am mainly wondering how BlogEngine compares to WordPress. BlogEngine seems to have a lot of the key features that Wordpress has, which i am really impressed by.
http://www.dotnetblogengine.net/page/Feature-table.aspx.

How hard is is to give BlogEngine any look you want? I found this extremely easy to do in WordPress.

I don't expect it to have everything WordPress has - WordPress has been around a lot longer. If it is even close though, that would be fantastic.
Aug 2, 2008 at 10:04 PM
Hi,  I am an Asp.Net programmer and I am still using WordPress for my blog, so I can definely help with this.   I will posting a full side by side comparison of WordPress vs BlogEngine.Net on my blog (http://blog.alexanderhiggins.com). I have a draft saved, but I just want to verify that my findings are factually correct before I post.  To be honest the main reason I haven't converted to BlogEngine.Net is I want to maintain the URL structure that exists on my WordPress blog, and customizing the slugs isn't currently possible with out writing some Asp.Net Code.

As far as giving it the look you want, themes are basically CSS and HTML based so if your comfortable with those, customizing the Look and Feel should be a peice of cake.  As far as the features, I think that the both platforms are neck and neck out of the box, with the exception of the customization of slugs and the lack of a "dashboard".