BlogEngine.Net integration with existing application

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0
Aug 7, 2008 at 5:32 PM
Hi, as my email indicates,  I'm new to setting up a blog.  I would like to integrate BE with an existing application, and run it in a subdirectory.   

I plan to convert my custom login authentication tables over to the aspnet membership provider so I installed the membership / roles tables into my DB and created Administrators and Editors roles and then created two users, one of them in Administrators Role.    Thanks Al Nyveldt for your awesome tutorials!! 

I modified the web.config in my subdirectory to use DbMembershipProvider and DbRoleProvider instead of XML..but when I attempt to login using the newly created users, I get 'Your login attempt was not sucessful...'   I can see the users I created in the .net membership tables,  but BE won't allow me to login with anything other than the admin/admin user,  seems like it just isn't using aspnet membership? 

Can someone help me understand all the steps necessary to integrate BE into an existing application?  I want to authenticate users once and not have them login to the blog. 

Any help is greatly appreciated,  I have been using .net for about six months now and am trying to come up to speed.
Aug 7, 2008 at 10:01 PM
There is of two reasons I have seen this. One running .net apps on localhost in iis 5.1 (winxp), I could not login.  However, uploading to a 2003 server made the issue disappear.  Copy the same back to the IIS on LocalHost and could't login (note;  I was using SQL Express so it wasn't becuase of different DB's).

The other time I saw this is when I was inconsitent in using the Member Ship / Role Providers in my App.  I think, my registration forms provider didn't match what was defined in the web.config... or was it the login.. I forget exactlt but i fixed that issue by make sure the same membersip and role provider was used throughtout the application.
Aug 7, 2008 at 11:06 PM