Email and Name Opt In

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Controls, Themes
Feb 4, 2009 at 2:24 AM
Hi,

I'm a newbie at most of this stuff and was looking for some guidance.  I've installed BE.Net 1.4.5 onto a webserver and have it working using the XML option of storing posts and comments.  Now my wife would like for me to create what she calls an opt in box on the side for an individual to enter there email and name so that they can receive information.  Here is an example of a blog site she found and now wants to mimic this site's opt in functionality.  http://www.myrealestateinvesting411.com/Realestate/index.php

Can someone point me in a direction on how to implement such a feature.  At I'm figuring that a control might be required, but I'm not sure.  I'm looking for the fastest and easiest way to accomplish this.  I really don't need to store the information on the server.  Sending the contact information to another email addess would work for her application. 

However, having it also stored in a SQL database would be nice so that checks could be performed to determine if they have requested information previously.  But, this is not necessary. 

The other thought I have is simply create a new 'ASP master template' with some asp controls to provide this functionality and then create a new theme based on this.  I don't believe this is the best way to do this however.  Hence the reason I'm asking for some guidance.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated!  Additionally, if someone wanted to help by creating a turnkey solution for us I would entertain that, depending on the cost.

Brian
Coordinator
Feb 4, 2009 at 4:00 AM
BE already has something close to what you're looking for -- the Newsletter widget.  If you're logged into your blog, there'll be a dropdown box containing widgets you can add to your blog's sidebar.  One of those widgets is the Newsletter widget.