BE + GoDaddy (or other host) + MySQL Installation Instructions

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0
Feb 5, 2009 at 2:23 PM
Just to start, I am posting instructions not asking a question.  I attempted the above installation setup and took notes while going through the process of setting up my own site.  Visit if you like, but it's not finished as of this posting so I'm not actively blogging yet. Since there wasn't too much in detail on installing and setting up use with the MySQL provider, I decided to help out everyone having issues and write instructions to prevent and correct common problems.

Just some notes on me and my setup, I'm running a Windows client/server programmer by trade with a lot of experience in web development.  I run Windows XP SP2, Visual Studio 2005 and MySQL 5.0.67.  My host is GoDaddy with Shared Windows Hosting with multiple domains sharing my hosting account.  My database is of course MySQL because I get more of them than SQL Server databases.  This is my second MySQL back-end website so MySQL is new to me but databases are not.

While I use GoDaddy, I'm sure these instructions will apply to other hosts as well.  If people are running into the problems such as the be_Settings table does not exist, referencing MySql.Data.dll issues or others, these instruction will help them correct them so you can point them here.  If you come up with any other MySQL issues, please ask here and I will try to answer them as best I can.
Feb 5, 2009 at 2:24 PM

Local Windows Development Environment

1. Download MySQL Community Server (pick the version your web host supports) and follow its instructions for installation.
    1. (GoDaddy Note) – As of writing, GoDaddy supports 4.1 and 5.0.  Go with the 5.0 or greater if available.
  2. Also while here, download the MySQL Connector/Net 5.2.
    1. The choice is yours as to which package you are comfortable with (binaries or source).  Either way, you will need to reference this dll later on.