VS2005 OK, Localhost No changes seen?

Feb 16, 2009 at 6:13 PM
Hi Everyone

I am a developer, and have installed the source, built it and run everything up OK. I then also setup IIS so that I could use it without going through VS2005.

I had already edited the initial blog and when I went through on localhost (and using the machine name) and saw the edited post.

However, I then changed the theme and made another edit, which I see fine in VS2005, but when I go to localhost or the machine name, I don't see those changes?

I have set the IIS folder to \BlogEngine.Web and the default document to default.aspx

Anyone help me out here ? - I know I could spend time on this, but I am really busy with work, and would like to use the blog
Coordinator
Feb 16, 2009 at 6:27 PM
This sounds like the classic 'caching' scenario in BE.  BE caches posts and settings like the theme (and other data too).  The cached data is stored in memory.  But when you make changes using VS2005's built-in web server, the changes are occurring within the built-in web server's application, and not within the application you setup in IIS (even though they're sharing the same files on disk).  So the application running within IIS isn't aware any changes have been made, so it continues to use the same data it has stored in memory.

Best thing to do is only use the IIS application -- which you can optionally do from VS2005.  In your VS2005 project, if you right-click on the project, 'Start Options' tab, under 'Server' select 'Use custom server' and for the Base URL, use the IIS url, eg. http://localhost/myblog/

A quick, manual fix to this would be to restart your application in IIS (or restart IIS).  Or you could make any change to the web.config file or any file in the App_Code directory (like just adding a space).  If you do this, the data cached in memory will clear out and the latest data will get read again.
Feb 16, 2009 at 6:41 PM
Thanks Ben

I get the picture