Integration with existing website

Topics: Business Logic Layer, Controls, Themes
Dec 31, 2013 at 4:44 AM
Edited Dec 31, 2013 at 5:18 AM
I am new to blogengine and hope to get some help so I can get onto the right direction. So thanks in advance.
Here is my situation: I have a website written in mvc4.0. The website has many sales users each user can own many zipcode. Once they logged into the system we know which zipcode they belong to. The system uses SqlMembershipProvider and SqlRoleProvider for authentication and authorization. Now we like to add blog so sales user can blog in their zipcode. It is a many to many relationship. We have two websites one is public website that for consumers to view blogs and interact with sales people. The other is intranet where sales user can create/edit/publish/delete post. I assume that the best way to handle this is to keep blog engine and our website separate. Please let me know if this is not the case. Here are my questions:
  1. Is blogengine the right app for this? Will 2.9 make this integration easier?
  2. If so should we use or for blog section?
  3. Can we create theme the will look like my current site?
  4. How much work is this?
  5. Any guide on how to implement something like this?
Thanks again and wish everyone a great successful new year!

Dec 31, 2013 at 8:33 PM
General rule is: it is easy to run blog side-by-side with other application ( and tough to fully integrate/merge into other application. Blogengine uses provider model to plug in its own membership, it also multi-blog so it adds blog instance ID to authentication cookie which makes it harder to share with other app. Be 2.9 does not make any changes to membership, it is same as in 2.8.