Allways redirected to login-page, can't get through

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Business Logic Layer, Controls
Mar 25, 2009 at 1:16 PM
Hello!

I have a problem with an app that uses BlogEngine when browsing to "www.thesite.com/blog" I should be able to view the blog posts, but instead I get redirected to the login-page. After I logged in, the change password form is displayed, and after I changed the password nothing happens and on every link I click I get redirected back to the login-page.

The strange thing though is when I browse to "localhost:88/blog.aspx" everything works fine I can view the blog post and click every where, and ONLY when I click the login link the login-page get displayed, exactly how it should be.

It seems to me that there is some kind of security setting in BlogEngine thats behind all of this, not shure though, I'm very new to BlogEngine.

Does anybody have a clue what could be the problem?

The app is using BlogEngine 1.4.5, and running on IIS where it has it's own AppPool, .NET 1.1.

Thanks in advcance!

/Fred
Mar 26, 2009 at 7:06 AM
Doesn't anyone  have a clue?'

/Fred
Coordinator
Mar 26, 2009 at 7:27 AM
BlogEngine is a .NET 2.0 application, so the website in IIS will need to be setup for .NET 2.0 -- not 1.1.  This may or may not be the cause of the issues you're seeing.
Mar 26, 2009 at 7:34 AM
Ok, thank you for your answer.

But if that was the case, in my opinion it shouldn't work when I browse to the app on localhost either.

/Fred
Mar 26, 2009 at 8:47 AM
My bad!

The app is using .NET 1.1, but the BE has it's own AppPool that uses :NET 2.0.

So that shouldn't be the problem.

/Fred
Mar 26, 2009 at 12:22 PM
When I'm broswing to "http://www.thesite.com/blog" I get redirected to "http://www.thesite.com/blog/login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2fblog%2fdefault.aspx", if that helps.

Could it be some authentication setting in my web.config that's incorrect?

I appreciate every answer!

/Fred
Coordinator
Mar 26, 2009 at 9:47 PM