Creating Multilayered Menu

Topics: Themes
Feb 23, 2014 at 1:38 PM

My department had requested me to do a multilayer sub menu. The main problem is i'm new to blogengine and its really my learning curve and my new experience.

I already read site.master line in the standard theme and as far as I understand, the loop looks like only allow 2 layer of sub menu (Menu -> sub-menu) and I try to make Menu -> subLayer1 -> subLayer2 -> sublayer3
<%foreach (BlogEngine.Core.Page parentPage in BlogEngine.Core.Page.Pages.Where(p => !p.HasParentPage && p.IsPublished && p.ShowInList)) 
{ %><li class="Left Page-Link"><a href="<%=parentPage.RelativeLink %>" title="<%=parentPage.Title%>"><%=parentPage.Title%></a> 
  <%if (parentPage.HasChildPages) 
  { %> <ul class="Sub-Page-Links"> 
    <%foreach (BlogEngine.Core.Page childPage in BlogEngine.Core.Page.Pages.Where(p => p.Parent == parentPage.Id && p.IsPublished)) 
    { %> <li class="Left"><a href="<%=childPage.RelativeLink %>" title="<%=childPage.Title %>"><%=childPage.Title %></a> </li><% 
    } %> </ul><% 
  } %></li><% 
} %>
Can somebody explains to me the right code that I need to put as I really don't quite understand about the "if (parentPage.HasChildPages)" sentence in the foreach loop

Sorry as I'm really new about BE and there's a lot more to learn.

I'm using standard theme in BE2.8 to understand how BE works.

Thanks in advance
Feb 23, 2014 at 9:43 PM
In admin you can set any page as parent to another page, so you can have parent -> child -> grandchild etc going as deep as you like. The line "if (parentPage.HasChildPages)" simply checks if a page has any child pages. The PageMenu.cs control in the controls folder of App_Code will give you a multilayer menu. You could replace the default menu code in the Standard theme site.master with something like this.
<div class="navbar-collapse collapse">
    <blog:PageMenu ID="PM" runat="server" />