The type or namespace name 'WidgetBase' could not be found

Jun 18, 2009 at 8:47 PM

Hi

I am pretty new to dot net, but I have got my BlogEngine project nearly ready to go.  I downloaded the website download and just need to clear up some build errors. 

I managed to add the BlogEngine.Core dll to get rid of that namespace error.  But I still have 38 errors, one of which is the 'WidgetBase' namespace error.

Where can I get the dlls so I can add these references in?

Thanks in advance!

Dave

Coordinator
Jun 19, 2009 at 7:27 AM

WidgetBase is the WidgetBase.cs file in the App_Code\Controls folder.

Jun 20, 2009 at 2:33 PM

Thanks for the help.

I can't seem to just add a reference like I did with BlogEngine.Core, nothing shows up when I go to References, Add > Reference. 

What do I need to do to fix this error?

Coordinator
Jun 20, 2009 at 9:44 PM

Normally, any files in the App_Code folder are automatically detected and don't need to be referenced.

I'm not sure what types of changes you've been making.  Typically, you just download BE, extract the files into a folder, and it runs.  Are you trying to convert BE into a WAP project?

Jun 22, 2009 at 10:15 AM

I downloaded the website, copied it into a new project and had these errors from the start.  The only changes I have made are styles etc.

I orginially had 105 errors but I managed to reference the BlogEngine.Core dll so that reduced it to 39.  That leaves me with WidgetBase and a couple of others which I'll need to check their names at home.

Coordinator
Jun 22, 2009 at 7:44 PM

You're copying BE into a new project ... is that a WAP project where you end up with a single DLL file in the BIN directory when compiling the project?