Themes - Convert WordPress To BLogEngine

Topics: Themes
Aug 10, 2009 at 5:55 PM
Edited Aug 10, 2009 at 6:03 PM

First of all, I'm very new to BlogEngine and I am not a .Net developer.  I've also spent a fair amount of time getting to know BlogEngine by reading this forum and other's blogs.

I'm having trouble converting WordPress themes to BlogEngine themes.  I've read the "how to" guide at and I've watched the video on creating themes at  These resources have been invaluable in getting me started but, alas, I've run into some difficulties.

I'm starting with 2 Wordpress Templates.  The first called Fusion can be found here: The second called iNove can be found here:   Here's my problem: my Fusion conversion works pretty well, the iNove conversion won't work at all.  I'm lookin for some help converting iNove.

I'm trying to do exactly what I did with Fusion (per the guide) template to get iNove to work.  Basically, that is:

1. create a basic BlogEngine site.master, postview.aspx and commentview.aspx.
  2. copy the html from the demo/preview of iNove
  3. make changes to the iNove HTML.

My problem is that no matter what I do, I can't get BlogEngine Controls to display inside the iNove HTML that I copy in.

To troubleshoot, I've started over several times.  I can:

1. create the basic blogengine site.master, etc.
  2. copy the iNove HTML below the standard site.master code but inside its <body> tag.
  3. Preview Blogengine using the iNove template.  When I Preview, I see is the BlogEngine post entries on the top of the page and the html from the iNove template rendered below.  This confirms (to me anyway) that both BlogEngine and the template HTML are working within site.master.

Next, I cut and paste the following code

<!-- BlogEngine Post  -->
<form runat="Server">blogengine
 <asp:ContentPlaceHolder ID="cphBody" runat="server" ></div>
<!-- BlogEngine Post  -->