Authentication Users Via A Third Party Web Service And Other Customisations.

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Business Logic Layer, Controls
Mar 10 at 2:58 PM
Goodday people,

I have a challenge with BlogEngine.NET

I have an entire database of users, far different from BlogEngine's DB.

I do have some other customization I'd like to do, like -
  • Authenticating users via a web service rather than using the table from the BlogEngine DB.
  • Inserting user name from the web service into the User table in BlogEngine DB
  • Assigning users from the web service user roles, and allowing them post.
I understand the login.aspx.cs has a method (LoginUser_OnAuthenticate()) that authenticates the user to see if the username and passwords match those in the data-store. What I don't understand is where is the Response.Redirect() method to direct the user to the landing page if the match is correct?

I'm sorry, I'm still new to C#. Just trying to wrap my head around this.

I don't know if anyone has worked on something like this and would like you to put me through.

Regards,
Mar 10 at 10:54 PM
Edited Mar 11 at 5:23 PM
Hi again!

I think you're looking at the complied web site, not at the source code. When you browse the source code everything will start to make more sense. You'll also get a feel for how large the code base is.

The LoginUser_OnAuthenticate method in login.aspx.cs calls a method in BlogEngine.Core/Services/Security/Security.cs - the response redirect happens in that piece of code.

Here's a link to the code on GitHub. If you're interested in developing go to the GitHub site and put in a pull request!

https://github.com/rxtur/BlogEngine.NET/blob/master/BlogEngine/BlogEngine.Core/Services/Security/Security.cs

All the best,
Simon
Mar 12 at 8:37 AM
Hi Simon,

Thanks for the reply. I have downloaded the code base, and it is truly large!

The LoginUser_OnAuthenticate method in login.aspx.cs calls the AuthenticateUser method in Security.cs. From the code snippet: