extensions not loading

Topics: Controls
Sep 1, 2009 at 10:19 PM

hey there,

i hope someone can shed some light into this.  ive been searching for days for a solution.  apologies, im new to blognet and the mechanisms of how things work in the background..

using blogengine 1.5.0.7 - out of the box version.  i have the site up and running.. all appears to be fine.  i attempt to load some of the nifty extensions, example - youtube, commentor, mp3player, http://rtur.net/blog/category/Extensions.aspx etc and when i do - the extensions show up as blank in the extensions manager, sometimes they show only a few extensions.  when i remove the newly added extension, they all re-appear.   i have searched a fair bit for a solution.  a suggested solution appears to point to a config file - where one changes "ExtensionType" to be "1" instead of "Extension" - however, this seems to be related to using sql tables, im using the out of the box - non database version of BE. 

some helpfull links are - http://www.codeplex.com/blogengine/WorkItem/View.aspx?WorkItemId=5758 and http://www.binarybits.net/blog/post/2008/07/13/Reason-For-Extensions-Of-BlogEngine-Not-Loading-And-The-Fix.aspx#comment all related to be_datastoresettings

ive checked global.aspx and various other .xml files and can find no reference to the extensiontype. 

any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Eric

Coordinator
Sep 3, 2009 at 9:00 AM

I think those posts you linked to are older posts for older versions of BE.  If you just started off with BE 1.5.0.7, I doubt you're running into what was discussed in those posts.

What do you mean the "extensions show up as blank in the extensions manager".  Do you mean there isn't a row for each of the extensions you added?  Or is there a row for each extension, but clicking the 'View' button shows nothing?  Or are the new extensions not showing up and the old extensions also disappear?