GUEST USER ROLE/PERMISSIONS/ACCESS

Oct 17, 2009 at 1:57 AM

Hi Blog Engine community. Can anyone help me please?  I would like to add a new role, for example a guest  to enable a visitor to add a comment but not be able to edit or delete comments or information on posts or pages.   I would also like this guest visitor to be able to view video, and download files that have been uploaded.  To put this in context.  I work in a school and want my leaners to be able to blog with me if they have any learning issues and be able to download and view resources that I have uploaded for them.  I have already added the privatiser function and am aware of this.  Any help would be greatly appreciated because I am really struggling to make headway with this and would love to get it to work as described.  Thanks in anticipation of any help.

Oct 18, 2009 at 1:59 PM

On page.aspx.cs AdminLinks, change the line that says:

if (System.Threading.Thread.CurrentPrincipal.Identity.IsAuthenticated)

to this:

if (System.Threading.Thread.CurrentPrincipal.Identity.IsAuthenticated && Roles.IsUserInRole(System.Threading.Thread.CurrentPrincipal.Identity.Name, BlogEngine.Core.BlogSettings.Instance.AdministratorRole))

You also need to include:

using System.Web.Security;

This way only Administrators can edit/delete pages and posts....

Build the site and good luck...

Oct 18, 2009 at 6:21 PM
Hi Jeiras

Very many thanks for contacting me about this.  Can you tell me where to  include the  using System.Web.Security; please?    Thanks again.

Colin

2009/10/18 jeiras <notifications@codeplex.com>

to this:

if (System.Threading.Thread.CurrentPrincipal.Identity.IsAuthenticated && Roles.IsUserInRole(System.Threading.Thread.CurrentPrincipal.Identity.Name, BlogEngine.Core.BlogSettings.Instance.AdministratorRole))

Read the full discussion online.

To add a post to this discussion, reply to this email (blogengine@discussions.codeplex.com)