Can't write any changes to blog - BE 1.5.0.7

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Controls
Dec 1, 2009 at 2:38 PM

I know it looks like an NTFS perms error, but I've through a half a dozen times, and even reset an re-assigned passwords and user account.  I get the following error anytime I try to save any changes to the settings page ex: changing the theme.  Oddly sometimes after dismissing the error the change I put in is made, but not always. Are there specific changes to be made to the app pool?   I'm very new to BE, love how easy it is to customize. 

Server Error in '/blog' Application.

Access to the path 'C:\....\blog\App_Data\settings.xml' is denied.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.UnauthorizedAccessException: Access to the path 'C:\Websites\WellingtonStreetConsulting\blog\App_Data\settings.xml' is denied.

ASP.NET is not authorized to access the requested resource. Consider granting access rights to the resource to the ASP.NET request identity. ASP.NET has a base process identity (typically {MACHINE}\ASPNET on IIS 5 or Network Service on IIS 6) that is used if the application is not impersonating. If the application is impersonating via <identity impersonate="true"/>, the identity will be the anonymous user (typically IUSR_MACHINENAME) or the authenticated request user.

To grant ASP.NET access to a file, right-click the file in Explorer, choose "Properties" and select the Security tab. Click "Add" to add the appropriate user or group. Highlight the ASP.NET account, and check the boxes for the desired access.

Source Error:

Line 165:        //  Persist settings
Line 166:        //-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Line 167:        BlogSettings.Instance.Save();
Line 168:
Line 169:        Response.Redirect(Request.RawUrl, true);