"About the author" being the same and slow start

Feb 18, 2010 at 4:39 PM

Hi I'm new to BE but I really like it a lot. I have successfully installed BE, but I have encountered two problems. One is the "About the author" widget. This blog is supposed to allow multiple authors. When you click on different blogs that were written by different authors, the "about the author" widget always displays the first author regardless who actually wrote it. If you edit it and change it to the 2nd author, then all the posts have the 2nd author instead. Am I doing something wrong? I would like to display the author information even with their pictures. Is this doable? The 2nd problem I have is the blog site seems to take close to 1 minute to start. According to the usability theory, most people don't have the patience to wait that long for a page to be loaded. Is there anyway to expedite it? Please help! Thank you so much!!

Coordinator
Feb 19, 2010 at 7:56 AM

The About the Author widget is just a textbox widget that has static content in it.  It's not a dynamic widget that changes its content based on the current post being displayed.  In a number of places on the blog, there isn't an individual post being displayed, although the About the Author widget is displayed on those pages too (widgets are displayed on every page).  So which author profile should be displayed on those pages?