Subdirectory install web.config problems

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0
Oct 13, 2007 at 1:55 AM
Hello,
I am trying to install BE on a shared host environment - www.ixwebhosting.com.
I have created a subdirectory off of my main application directory.
I copied over BE files, made sure that had r/w access, and defined the subdir as a web application directory. It is setup to be a ASP NET 2.0 application.

I get an error when running concerning the authorization being a locked location.
I am a newbie at this stuff - anyone have any ideas to fix?
I am not sure what to ask here - maybe there is something that I have to tell the admin at ixwebhosting to do - flick the authorization ok switch.

Your help is appreciated.

Regards,
bruce

here is the error message ------------------------

Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: This configuration section cannot be used at this path. This happens when the site administrator has locked access to this section using <location allowOverride="false"> from an inherited configuration file.

Source Error:
Line 3: <system.web>
Line 4: <pages enableSessionState="true" />
Line 5: <authorization>
Line 6: <deny users="?" />
Line 7: </authorization>

Source File: D:\hshome\sguffanti\drdyslexic.com\blog\admin\web.config Line: 5
Oct 13, 2007 at 2:38 PM
I'm having the same issue and a newbie as well...
Oct 14, 2007 at 2:59 PM

I was thinking of commenting out this authorization section in the config file.
My webhost environment must set this in machine.config.

Are there any consequences to doing this otherwise?
Oct 15, 2007 at 3:32 AM
Commenting out the authorization section in the \admin\web.config & \admin\pages\web.config files does the trick.

Luckily, I don't have any "roles" to cover for this blog.

Oct 15, 2007 at 5:28 PM