Allowing Users to Register for the BLOG

Topics: Business Logic Layer, Controls
Aug 29, 2010 at 10:02 PM

I am new to the world of a Blog website. And I am trying to see if I can use to meet what I am looking for.

What I am trying to see if there is a way to allow users to register themselves on a blog without having the Administartor create their Userids ahead of time. Much like registering for CodePlex.

Aug 30, 2010 at 2:07 AM

BE does that now.  I am not sure what release this came available but if you use this source code here you will be good to go.

Aug 30, 2010 at 3:16 AM

I am on version 1.6.1 which was installed by GoDaddy which is hosting my site. Since this is all new to me at the moment can you explain how I would install the source code and use it? Thanks.

Aug 30, 2010 at 5:58 AM

While I was waiting for a reply to my previous question I thought I would take a look at the source code changes. I noticed there was a download link on the page so I decided to click and download the information. From what was downloaded it looks like a new version of BE, I was wondering can I just upgrade my existing BE 1.6.1 with this new version? If so, how? I noticed there are additional folders that did not exits, at least when GoDaddy did the installation. And I want to make sure I do not loose the SQL Server database that was created as part of the install. I am assuming all the posts, user information, and any other data is being loaded into the database. Thanks for the help.

Aug 30, 2010 at 3:12 PM

See this post:

Once installed I opened the solution, .sln file, and then at the top of the solution tree you can publish or compile web site.   Once I did that I was able to overwrite my install with the new files.

Sorry but I cannot speak to the DB questions since I use XML to store my data right now.  Once thing to be aware of is to back up your settings data.

Aug 31, 2010 at 2:41 AM