Contact page

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Controls
Aug 29, 2010 at 10:14 PM

I am new to so I don't know if this has been asked before so bear with me.

There is a Contact page for When one clicks the send button, what email does it send to? And where can this be configured?

I found in Settings an email setting, but do not know how to configure it correctly to send to my gmail account. Nor do I know if this controls the Contact page.

Any help to a new user would be appreciated.

Aug 30, 2010 at 12:58 AM
Edited Aug 30, 2010 at 1:01 AM

Normally you would configure in the settings menu for your domain name, something like this:
your username
your password

You could then forward this to your gmail account from your control panel of your hosting company.

You could setup several email accounts in your hosters control panel and use the settings here to have the contact form sent to.

You could have or or whatever email account name you wish.

Aug 30, 2010 at 1:17 AM

I think you should be able to send it directly via your gmail account. Here are the settings:

The following are the Gmail SMTP server and port settings for sending mail through Gmail from any email client program:

• under Outgoing mail, set Gmail SMTP server address:
  • Configure Gmail SMTP user name as: your full Gmail address (including Google Apps users may have to enter
  • Configure Gmail SMTP password as: Your Gmail password
  • Configure Gmail SMTP port as: 465 or 587
  • Configure Gmail SMTP TLS/SSL required as: yes

Aug 30, 2010 at 6:19 AM

I gave it a try with the gmail settings but get the following error when I clicked 'Test mail settings':

Could not connect - Request for the permission of type 'System.Net.Mail.SmtpPermission, System, Version=, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089' failed.