Integrating BlogEngine.NET into ASP.NET website

Sep 23, 2010 at 5:07 AM

I have my personal site developed in ASP.NET.  I want to create a blog using BlogEngine.NET but I want that to be *part* of my overall site - not the entire site devoted to the blog.

For example, the start page is an introduction to my company and there is a link at top top menu - a tab - that says "Blog".  From there I want to use BlogEngine.net. 

How hard is this to set-up?

Again, it's an ASP.NET site where the blog is a link from the top menu.

Sep 28, 2010 at 7:39 PM

I want to do the exact same thing as you. I asked about a month ago without any answer, it seams that it is probably hard to do. I don't know, I am new at this. BUt, if you find anything or heard positively about something thatmight help, can you let me know at info@jouvaderm.com

Thanks a lot

Eric Morin

Sep 28, 2010 at 9:49 PM

Follow these steps to put BlogEngine into a subfolder of your site:

1. Create a subfolder, ex. Blog.
  2. Download the latest release of BlogEngine and copy the files into the blog-folder.
  3. Use IIS Management Console to turn the subfolder into an application. Right-click the folder node and click the menu item Convert to application (if my memory serves me correctly).

I hope this helps :-)

Oct 5, 2010 at 6:34 PM

I did the exact steps you have above - Step 3 - I made the subfolder into an application in my IIS - but it does not work. Please see my detailed post here in the discussions section dated October 5, 2010. I really have no idea why this is not working. Any help would really be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Coleen

Oct 5, 2010 at 9:20 PM
Here are some steps that should still be relevant up to version 1.5 and maybe 1.6 (although I haven't tested with 1.6) ... let me know if you have any questions. 
Oct 5, 2010 at 9:22 PM
bbqchickenrobot wrote: