Captcha Error

Oct 7, 2010 at 2:05 AM

I'm receiving the following error when submitting a comment and using recaptcha:

Unable to cast object of type 'System.String' to type 'System.IO.Stream'.

Anyone have a solution? I'm not a programmer so specific files and code to tweak would be helpful. I did see some info about this on this page but I couldn't follow, http://blogengine.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=208271.

Oct 7, 2010 at 4:16 PM
Edited Oct 7, 2010 at 4:20 PM

I was having the same problem as well.  I think it might be specific to those who are using Sql Server.

Either way, I tried Andrea's fix (same thread your referenced), and it seems to work great.

Really only two steps that I can see so far.  I did the following ...

Step 1:)

In the RecaptchaControl.cs (Located in your App_Code folder, under Extensions, and then Recaptcha), look for the UpdateLog() method.

From here, simply comment out the following, or just delete it if you want:

Stream s = (Stream)BlogService.LoadFromDataStore(BlogEngine.Core.DataStore.ExtensionType.Extension, "RecaptchaLog");
List<RecaptchaLogItem> log = new List<RecaptchaLogItem>();
if (s != null)
{
    System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer serializer = new System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer(typeof(List<RecaptchaLogItem>));
    log = (List<RecaptchaLogItem>)serializer.Deserialize(s);
    s.Close();
}

And the replace it with the following:

string s = (string)BlogService.LoadFromDataStore(BlogEngine.Core.DataStore.ExtensionType.Extension, "RecaptchaLog");
List<RecaptchaLogItem> log = new List<RecaptchaLogItem>();
if (!string.IsNullOrEmpty(s))
{
    using (StringReader reader = new StringReader(s))
    {
        System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer serializer = new System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer(typeof(List<RecaptchaLogItem>));
        log = (List<RecaptchaLogItem>)serializer.Deserialize(reader);
    }
}

Step 2:)