BE Integration to Existing Site

Jun 27, 2011 at 6:22 AM

Hi all

I am moving further down the path of integrating BE into an existing site. I have a site with a master page and a full look and feel. It is a social site with other functionality, and I want to add BE for blogging. I will be doing more in the future, but iteration one is just to get it into the site cleanly. Once I get a nice integration working, what I am going to do is have a "blogroll" page that lists the site blogs with a link to a particular blog. I will also be creating some sort of "self service" function so that users can create their own blog or blogs. That is part of iteration two.

Right now I can do BE as a subdirectory, and my next step would be to do an integration with the site's existing membership. However what I would really like to do is to "fit" the blog home page into a DIV in the site's existing structure. The best way to do this would be if I could just drop all of BE into the page as a control.

So how hard would that be, to take BE and wrap is as a single control, and then to drop that control on a page? Or would there be a "better" way to do this type of integration?

Thanks

Richard

Jun 27, 2011 at 6:40 AM
Edited Oct 24, 2011 at 8:21 PM

In your code behind files replace System.Web.UI.Page  with ---> BlogEngine.Core.Web.Control.BlogBasePage

Thats it!!

Use custom web pages

If you want to create a custom web page instead of injecting user controls, you can still do that the same way as usual. Just place your custom .aspx page in the root and make it inherit from BlogEngine.Core.Web.Control.BlogBasePage instead of System.Web.UI.Page. When doing that it automatically loads your theme and master page around the page. You can then keep the look and feel of your theme, but totally control the content and functionality of your custom page.

http://madskristensen.net/post/User-control-injection-in-BlogEngineNET-12.aspx

Java Blog

Jun 27, 2011 at 4:44 PM

Hi kbdavis07