Help getting started

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Themes
May 21, 2012 at 1:01 AM

Hi,

I am completely new to blogengine, so apologies if this is a silly query.

I have been asked to convert about 1/2 an existing site to a blog style site.

The front page will have 3 different repeaters with the 3 or 4 latest items in the appropriate category.
So it will display the 3 latest deals in one area of the screen, the 3 latest competitions in another and the 3 latest news items in a nother.  All the facebook and twitter guff will be in a rhs column.

Users will click on say the deals header and be redirected to another page containing all of the deals.

They can then click on a given deal and be directed to that deals details page where they may enter a response.
The individual deal page may also be reached by clicking on 1 of the 3 deal items in the home page.

The structure will be the same for the other categories.

My question is - is this possible using blogengine?

From what I have read I cannot see how to build the 2nd teir pages ( eg repeater containing all deals).  All the examples I have seen have a home page displaying lists of various items. When an item is clicked the user is directed to a page displaying the items full details where a response may be made.

If it is possible, could someone direct me to somewhere I can learn how to do this?

Thanks in advance.

Niall

Coordinator
May 21, 2012 at 10:31 AM

There's a couple of things you can do which I think may be what you are after.

#1 - you can create a new physical ASPX page that inherits from BlogEngine.Core.Web.Controls.BlogBasePage.  Take a look at archive.aspx and archive.aspx.cs as an example.  Any ASPX page that inherits from BlogEngine.Core.Web.Controls.BlogBasePage will automatically have the theme applied to it.  You can then put any normal ASPX, HTML, etc on that new page you create.  i.e. you have full control over the page.