Issues Saving Basic Settings

Topics: Business Logic Layer
Jul 17, 2012 at 2:09 PM

Just installed BE 2.6. I can create posts, and save my profile info but im having a problem saving the basic settings page.

Also :

Since im an administrator shouldnt I see all users after creating several of them? That is not displaying for me. I must have something fouled up.

Im certain I have write privilages set up or else I would not be able to save posts. ???

Any ideas as to why the basic settings will not save and the users are not displaying?

Thank you!

Jul 17, 2012 at 7:14 PM

When you saving setting - do you get green message on top of the screen or it show yellow error message? Also I'm assuming you are using default XML provider - open app_data folder and make sure your saved post is there and not just saved in the memory. There should be no difference between saving post and settings as far as I know. And also - does it not save just basic settings or any settings?

Jul 17, 2012 at 7:25 PM

I get no user feedback at all, No green or Yellow message bar. Other pages do give me the Green Message Bar when saving data.

Yes im using the default XML Provider. Just checked the app_data folder and under the post directory, I see my saved post.

Looks like it will not save any of the basic settings from the page.

I am using 4.0, Setup BlogEngine.Web as an application, full read write perms are set to the app_data folder. Cant see why it wont save the basic settings......Any other ideas? Hosted on

Jul 17, 2012 at 8:22 PM
Edited Jul 17, 2012 at 8:23 PM

It does ajax call on save, you can use firebug or F12 in IE to see why it is not getting through. There got to be some kind of error when it is called. And just to clarify - other settings saved fine and only basic settings cause trouble, right? Because I'm still not sure if your settings.xml gets updated or not.

Jul 17, 2012 at 10:55 PM
Edited Jul 17, 2012 at 11:00 PM