Password Retrieval…

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Controls
Jan 11, 2013 at 8:37 AM

I'm such a dork!

I use Microsoft Web matrix to download BlogEngine on my development machine. I also experimented with other CMS's on my development machine. Just to save space, I Deleted BlogEngine.

I've come full circle and decided that I should use BlogEngine. Problem is, instead of bringing me to the admin page to set up a new account. I get the regular login page.

I'm a newbie web developer taking classes at:

e-learningcenter dot com/web_design dot htm

I'm pretty close to about two thirds of the way done.

Anyway, if someone would be so kind to tell me how I can either retrieve or completely delete the old original admin username and password that's probably stored in a database on my development machine.

I've already tried to click on the, "forgot password" link… There is only one e-mail address I used for my websites. It said it could not find the e-mail address.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Jan 11, 2013 at 11:52 AM

You should be able to open up the xml file in the App Data folder and change the password or add another user and password using Web Matrix assuming you didn't setup a database, is so open up the user table and do the same process.

Jan 11, 2013 at 2:28 PM
Edited Jan 11, 2013 at 2:30 PM

How do I reset lost admin password?

If you are using default XML provider:

1. Get to your website (usually by FTP to your web server).
2. Open /app_data/users.xml in the text editor, for example notepad.
3. Remove password from your admin account, meaning:

change from:

If you are using SQL then instead of XML file update DB table:
UPDATE be_Users SET Password = '' WHERE UserName = 'admin'

4. Restart web site, easiest way is to open web.config and add a space to the comment and save it. Comments are:
<!-- anywhere between tags like these -->

Now you should be able to log in as admin/admin.