Widgets and Widget_Zone.xml - please help

Topics: Controls
Mar 18, 2009 at 8:59 PM
I'm fairly new to BlogEngine.NET but I have a blog all set up and running.  I recently added the Google Reader widget and couldn't get it to work properly when I noticed something.  I can't edit widgets (newly added or default ones such as Category List).  When I click the edit link it pops up the page for editing but I get a null reference error.  So I had a look at my be_WIDGET_ZONE.xml file and noticed that it never adds any widgets to it (the only ones in there are TextBox, Admin, Search, MonthList, TagCloud and PageList).

I'm not sure exactly how it's supposed to work but under App_Data/datastore/widgets I only have the be_WIDGET_ZONE.xml file and one other .xml file (for TextBox), shouldn't all the other widgets from be_WIDGET_ZONE.xml each have a file?  Either way new widgets should surely be added to the be_WIDGET_ZONE.xml file right?

I have the same sort of problem with extensions, when I add a new one it never creates an xml file under datastore/extensions.  On the admin/extensions screen new extensions don't show up so I can't edit them.

Am I missing something? Somebody please help me.
Coordinator
Mar 18, 2009 at 11:18 PM
Are you by any chance storing your data in a database using the DbBlogProvider?  If so, the data you're looking for would be in the be_DataStoreSettings table.

If you're not using a database, you might want to double check you have Write access setup for the App_Data folder.
Mar 18, 2009 at 11:29 PM

I really appreciate your help and any ideas you (or anyone else) can offer.

I am using the built in storage, I didn't set up a database for it so everything should be in the App_Data folder I think. As for permissions, I have no trouble when it comes to permissions as far as adding posts or users or anything so I don't know what would be any different with this. The folder definitely has Write access.

Mar 18, 2009 at 11:31 PM