Multi-blog per instance of BlogEngine, allow the public do that on my main blog?

Topics: ASP.NET 2.0, Business Logic Layer
Apr 28 at 8:46 AM
I am a newbie to BlogEngine. Although BlogEngine has multi-blog capability, my question is who can create additional blogs? If I am the owner/administrator of the aggregate blog, of course I would be allowed to create children blogs. What if I want to allow the public to login/register to my website/aggregate-blog and allow the public to create their own blog, all without my intervention. Can BlogEngine do that, how?

Thank you.
Apr 28 at 2:38 PM
Self-registration currently on hold, for security reasons.
Apr 29 at 4:45 PM
Edited Apr 29 at 4:51 PM
Hi Rtur,

I'm impressed with BlogEngine v3.2 and your focus on security. I write about scalability of multi-blogs.

In v3.2, for each new blog created by Admin, a disk folder is created that houses a number of files. Each blog folder serves as the basis of the URL. This design will not allow scalability nor a common user experience. Here's why:

1) When a million blogs are created, there would be a million blog folders and since Windows Explorer is not a relational database, lookup to render pages will be extremely slow if at all possible. Should architect the design to embed each blog folder into some kind of database records, which will afford fast retrieval and hence scalability.
I understand for non-tech blog owners, xml as a datastore was used. However, whenever BlogEngine is configured to use SQL Server, then those blog folders mechanism should be transferred into SQL Server instead of continued use of blog folders.