Spam comment protection

Topics: Business Logic Layer
Sep 15, 2009 at 6:41 AM
Edited Sep 15, 2009 at 6:50 AM

I have started to get some serious spam comment issues and since I am a developer and saw some patterns in the comments, I created a simple spam protection extension. It uses a manually updated list of known spam comments, spam sites and senders and so on. It seems to be working fine when I try it out. However, I still get spam comments. Is there any way at all to get spam comments into the system without them being checked by my extension? I assumed that no comments would be created in the system without the Post.AddingComment event would be that an incorrect assumption? I know that assumption is the mother of all f#@%!-ups...but it seemed logical...

But since I still get spam, something is not working as it should. If I copy the comment and try posting a comment, it fails. So the spam robots must be getting the comments in some other way... Any suggestions? I really need to sort this out...

BTW, I have seen the huge thread about this topic. but I'm mostly interested in how the spam post application gets by the code that should raise the event... My code is simple and works, but it seems as if the spam thingy manages to call the blog without the event being raised...

Sep 15, 2009 at 8:43 AM

If your extension subscribes to Post.CommentAdded, then all comments should go through your extension.

You may already be aware of this, but there's two basic forms of comments spam.  There's comment spam left by bots (not humans).  And then as of late, there's a lot of comment spam being left by real people.  These people get paid something like 5 cents or 20 cents or 50 cents, etc. for each piece of comment spam they leave on blogs, news articles, forums, etc.  This may be what you're seeing.

Comments can also come up from trackbacks and pingbacks.  But in these cases too, your extension will be alerted.